

Market Technicians Association Board Meeting

September 13, 2016, 8:03 AM ET, ending at 9:14 AM ET, conducted by teleconference

Board Attendees:

President Craig Johnson, CFA, CMT
Vice President Scott Richter, CFA, CMT
Secretary Brett Villaume, CMT, CAIA
Director Salma Abdulla, CFA, CMT
Director James Brodie, CMT
Director Carson Dahlberg, CMT
Director Sheba Jafari, MSTA, CMT
Director William Kelleher, CFA, CMT
Executive Director Alvin Kressler
Past President/Director Phil Roth, CMT

Absent:

Treasurer Sid Mokhtari, CMT Director Jamie Coutts, CMT, CFTe Director Sheba Jafari, MSTA, CMT

Guests:

Gordon Scott, Managing Director of the CMT Program
Tyler Wood, Managing Director of Global Business Development

Meeting Minutes:

- Johnson presented the September 2016 Board Meeting agenda for approval.

 Roth motioned to approve the August 2016 board meeting agenda, Kelleher seconded, and the motion passed unanimously without objection.
- Johnson presented the August 2016 Board Meeting minutes for approval.

 Roth motioned to approve the August 2016 board meeting minutes, Abdulla seconded, and the motion passed unanimously without objection.
- Johnson presented the minutes of the Special Board Meeting that took place on August 17, 2016 for approval.
 - Dahlberg motioned to approve the August 2016 Special Board Meeting minutes, Kelleher seconded, and the motion passed unanimously without objection.
- The following proposed 34 new Members were approved by the Admissions Committee and are now presented to the Board to be granted membership:

Bradley Berthiaume	Alexandre Boulard
Alberto Cardenas Hernandez	Arvind Chaudhary



Ka Ho Cheung	Wagner Dada
Tom Daues	Mario Di Marcantonio
Akos Dietrich	Maxime Gionet
Adin Gosine	Matthew Mark Havadtoi
Harry Holman	Deborah Honig
Mark Hurley	Ryan Jones
Amir Reza Kasraei	Christophe Klein
Kar Wai Leu	Chee Hao Lew
Arthur Main	Ty Meadows
Emile Mehanna	Henrik Mikkelsen
Henrik Passin	Alain Piche
Mark Salamone	Lauren Schumacher
Cody Sooter	Philipp Sporka
Yevgeniya Trotsenko	Andres Trujillo Renzi
Kaipen Xia	Li Zhao

Roth motioned to approve the new members, Dahlberg seconded, and the motion passed unanimously without objection.

The above named are now Members of the Market Technicians Association.

• The Admissions Committee presented 31 Members to be granted the CMT designation:

Alexandre Boulard	Alberto Cardenas Hernandez
Arvind Chaudhary	Ka Ho Cheung
Wagner Dada	Akos Dietrich
Maxime Gionet	Adin Gosine
Matthew Mark Havadtoi	Harry Holman
Deborah Honig	Mark Hurley
Ryan Jones	Amir Reza Kasraei
Christophe Klein	Kar Wai Leu
Chee Hao Lew	Arthur Main
Ty Meadows	Emile Mehanna
Henrik Mikkelsen	Henrik Passin
Alain Piche	Mark Salamone
Lauren Schumacher	Cody Sooter
Philipp Sporka	Yevgeniya Trotsenko
Andres Trujillo Renzi	Kaipen Xia
Li Zhao	

Dahlberg motioned to approve the Members be granted the CMT designation, Roth seconded, and the motion passed unanimously without objection.

The above named individuals are now Chartered Market Technician charterholders.



- Kressler provided an update on current financials. Although the pace of new CMT registrations has slowed, we are still on track for this registration cycle to be a record high. The two-stage pricing discount model enacted this year has resulted in registrations taking place earlier than in past years by approximately 4-5 weeks. This allows the Staff to better manage the CMT program and testing process. The level of membership renewals has also increased.
- Kressler informed the Board of the change to the Personal Conduct Statement (PCS) to include past
 offenses including felony convictions.
- Kressler and Scott informed the Board that the CMT curriculum is being improved for the 2017 exam cycle to include material from Kirkpatrick & Dahlquist's *Technical Anaysis: The Complete Resource for Financial Market Technicians, 3rd Edition,* as well as Julie Dahlquist and Richard Bauer's *Technical Market Indicators: Analysis & Performance.*
- Johnson announced changes to the membership of the Awards Committee, including Paul Ciana, CMT and Ron William, MSTA, CMT. Roth currently heads the Awards Committee.
- Villaume provided a summary of the Special Meeting of the MTA Educational Foundation (MTAEF) Board of Directors that took place in New York on September 10, 2016. He described the meeting as a productive discussion that was broad in scope and addressed the history of the MTAEF, the current and possible future working relationship between the MTA and the MTAEF, the state of Technical Analysis education on college campuses in the U.S., and the operational necessities of the MTAEF's status as a 501(c)(3) Organization under IRS code. Roth commented that the MTA and MTAEF should focus its efforts and work together, as we have a common goal of promoting Technical Analysis. Specific future goals include managing the library at Baruch College in New York City, participating in the G.A.M.E. Forum at Quinnipiac University, and the MTAEF Fall Fundraiser in New York.
- Kressler explained changes to the MTA website that are taking place.

Future Business:

None.

Villaume motioned to adjourn, Roth seconded, and the meeting was adjourned at 9:14 AM ET.

The next MTA Board meeting is scheduled for October 11, 2016 at 8:00 AM ET

Respectfully Submitted,

Brett Villaume, CMT, CAIA Secretary of the Board