

## **CMT Association Board Meeting**

March 13, 2018, 8:12 AM ET, ending at 9:14 AM ET, conducted by teleconference

## **Board Attendees:**

President Craig Johnson, CFA, CMT Vice President Scott Richter, CFA, CMT Secretary Brett Villaume, CMT, CAIA Director Salma Abdulla, CFA, CMT Director James Brodie, CMT Director Jamie Coutts, CMT, CFTe Director William Kelleher, CFA, CMT Director David Lundgren, CFA, CMT Director Stella Osoba, CMT Director Clint Sorensen, CMT Executive Director Alvin Kressler Past President/Director Phil Roth, CMT

#### **Guests:**

Stan Dash, CMT, Director of the CMT Program Tyler Wood, Managing Director of Global Business Development

#### Absent:

Treasurer Saeid Mokhtari, CMT

# **Meeting Minutes:**

- Johnson announced that Ruedi Goldi, CMT, was appointed to the CMT Curriculum and Test Committee.
- Johnson presented for approval a consent agenda that included the following items:
  - The March 2018 board meeting agenda
  - The February 2018 board meeting minutes
  - o 7 new members approved by the Admissions Committee (see Addendum)
  - 8 Members to be granted the CMT designation (see Addendum)

Roth motioned to approve the above consent agenda items, Brodie seconded, and the motion passed unanimously without objection.

• Kressler explained the process for approving the proposed changes to the Constitution and Bylaws. The Board will be presented with drafts of the revised Constitution and Bylaws. These will be reviewed by outside legal counsel prior to their distribution to the Board. The Board discussed term limits for the Officers of the Board (Bylaws Article 4.04). Kressler recommended the new term limits to avoid having 6-7 Officers/Directors up for reelection in one fiscal year. Villaume mentioned that the requirement to maintain the library was removed from the Constitution

and was not repeated in the Bylaws, due to the fact that such a requirement is a business decision of the Association. Additionally, the requirement to produce publications of the Association (e.g., a newsletter) was removed from the Constitution due to the fact that such a requirement is a business decision of the Association and due to legal considerations. Villaume recommended that the communication to the membership about the proposed changes must be clear, concise, and easily understood due to the large number of changes intended to streamline the Constitution and Bylaws. Following the approval of the Board via an email vote (requiring a unanimous decision), an email communication to the Membership will be written and reviewed by the Board to be delivered to members as part of the annual Proxy disclosures.

• Roth presented the slate of nominated Officers and Directors At-Large to be presented for election at the 2018 Annual Meeting: for President, Scott Richter; for Vice President, Brett Villaume; for Treasurer, Sid Mokhtari; for Secretary, Robert Palladino; for Director At-Large, William Kelleher; and for Director At-Large, David Lundgren. Roth explained that there were several excellent candidates for Board service who were reviewed by the Leadership Development Committee, but only one position was not being filled by an current Board member. Johnson and Kressler said that these highly qualified candidates will be asked to serve the Association through Committee work and in other capacities.

Roth motioned to accept the slate of nominations as submitted by the Leadership Development Committee, Sorensen seconded, and motion was accepted unanimously.

- Kelleher provided an update on the planning for the Annual Symposium taking place April 12-13, 2018. Wood
  informed the Board that registrations are pacing ahead of the last few years. There will be a kick-off event at
  Bloomberg on Wednesday night. The CMT Curriculum and Test Committee will be meeting on Wednesday and will
  stay for the Symposium. Representatives from the CFA Institute, CAIA Association, and CFP Board will be attending
  the Symposium and will be meeting with Kressler and Wood.
- Wood, the staff liaison for the Awards Committee, announced the winners of the 2018 Charles H. Dow Award, the Annual Award, the Recognition Award, and the Service Award. These awards will be presented to the recipients at the 2018 Annual Symposium and special communications will be issued through various global media outlets announcing the winners.
- Richter provided an update on the Long Range Planning Committee. The 2018 LRPC will consist of three meetings: an online videoconference on March 20th; an in-person meeting on April 14th in New York following the Symposium; and a second online videoconference at a data yet to be determined, but will take place within a week or two of the LRPC meeting in NYC. A summary of the 2017 LRPC meetings were previously sent to the Board and Richter asked members to review ahead of the videoconference.

# New Business

• None.

Roth motioned to adjourn, Richter seconded, and the meeting was adjourned at 9:14 AM ET.

# The next CMT Board meeting is scheduled for Saturday, April 14, 2018 at 8:00 AM ET

Respectfully Submitted,

Brett Villaume, CMT, CAIA Secretary of the Board

## Addendum

The following proposed 7 new Members were approved by the Admissions Committee and are now presented to the Board to be granted membership:

Ashfaq, Muhammad	Foreit, Jason
Hayyan, Sohail	Mlynko, Roman
Reis, Michael	Rungsiyaphornratana, Santi
Randeri, Amol	

#### The above named are now Members of the Chartered Market Technician Association.

The Admissions Committee presented 8 Members to be granted the CMT designation:

Ashfaq, Muhammad	Foreit, Jason
Hayyan, Sohail	Kristufek, Christopher
Mlynko, Roman	Reis, Michael
Rungsiyaphornratana, Santi	Randeri, Amol

## The above-named individuals are now Chartered Market Technician charterholders.